Karnataka, Maharashtra enter semis after convincing wins

1st Quarter-Final, Hyderabad vs Karnataka, Feroz Shah Kotla Delhi

Scintillating tons from Mayank Agarwal and Ravi Kumar Samarth chaperoned Karnataka to semi finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy after handing a sound defeat – by 103 runs – to Hyderabad at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium in Delhi on Wednesday (February 21). Opting to bat, Karnataka used the conditions to great advantage with Mayank and Samarth engineering a 242-run stand for the second wicket and thereby, setting steam for a sizable total. Chasing 348, Hyderabad needed an innings of some spark from the top four, but the scoreboard pressure coupled with some needless strokes compromised their chances of converting decent scores into a big one. That, and a lower-middle order implosion paved way for the inevitable as Hyderabad fell short by 103 runs.

Brief scoresKarnataka 347/8 in 50 overs [Mayank Agarwal 140, Ravikumar Samarth 125; Mohammed Siraj 5-59] beat Hyderabad 244 all-out in 42.5 overs [Ambati Rayudu 64, Telukupalli Ravi Teja 53; Shreyas Gopal 5-31] by 103 runs

2nd Quarter-Final, Mumbai vs Maharashtra, Palam A Stadium Delhi

Mumbai were throttled by a fantastic exhibition of fast bowling as Maharashtra moseyed home – by seven wickets – to book a berth in the semis at the Palam A stadium in Delhi. Winning the toss and batting first, Mumbai lost their top four batsmen under 100 runs and were unsettled by the early morning moisture on the pitch. Suryakumar Yadav, however, waged a lone battle (69 of 88 balls) in the middle overs, but the lack of late flourish restrained them to a below par total of 222 at the halfway stage. It was a straightforward chase for Maharashtra who sealed the target with seven wickets in hand, thanks to fifties from Shrikant Mundhe and Naushad Shaikh.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.